biscuits next to cup of coffee
blogging, food, health, recipe

Home made Honey and Oat Cookie Recipe

Honey has been on my mind, lately, as I was interviewing an expert on Beekeeping, in my job as a reporter, for a community magazine.

I can now tell you loads about the complexities of a bee colony, what threats they face, how they are heavily regulated by themselves and the bees and the process of making honey.

Whilst beekeeping can turn into an obsession, I am more obsessed with honey and its use as food. I sourced a wonderfully tasty Immune boosted raw Honey from the Beekeeper himself. This honey has all sorts of health benefits as the bees graze from a wide variety of food sources.

Apart from having one teaspoon of this delicious food from the Gods, each day, I made some Honey and Oat Biscuits, (or Honey and Oat Cookies if you are American), using a favourite recipe of mine, that I will share here:

Honey and Oat Cookies (Biscuits) Recipe

  • 1 cup Self Raising Flour, (or all-purpose flour with 2 teaspoons Baking powder)
  • 3 tablespoons custard powder
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup (125 g) or softened butter
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons honey
  • 3/4 cup wheatgerm or bran

Method

  1. Blitz the flour and custard powder
  2. Add sugar and oats and blitz again
  3. Add butter through the chute as processing til blended
  4. Add honey and process till well combined
  5. Roll teaspoonfuls of the mix into balls and toss lightly in the wheatgerm/bran
  6. Place on baking tray and flatten lightly with the back of a fork
  7. Cook for 10 – 12 minutes in a moderate over 180 degrees C (350 F)
  8. Allow to cool on tray

Makes about 15- 18 cookies

seachange logo

11 thoughts on “Home made Honey and Oat Cookie Recipe”

  1. I have learnt from this post that you are a journalist too! You are indeed a talented person! What fun that you got to interview an expert in Beekeeping, a subject which (if I recall correctly) is close to your heart.

    And your cookies look delicious as always. Do you think I could get away with replacing custard powder with milk powder?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Ju-Lyn. I am a journalist but not by training. I got into it via my writing! So you could too! Mind you, it is a steep learning curve for me. But lots of fun.
      Have you ever made custard? If so, what would you use? Custard flavour is an integral ingredient of this recipe and imparts the flavour to the bikkies, but give it a go anyway but perhaps flavour it with some vanilla?

      Like

      1. I don’t make custard, hence, no custard powder. But I hear you – if the flavour is important, I can get the custard powder … I’m sure I can find other uses for it!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

I love a good discussion. What do you have to say?