lemon yoghurt cupcakes
building

Lots of Lemon Cake

Although I am more than partial to a good Hot Cross Bun, we don’t tend to have such a traditional Easter celebrations anymore with chocolate eggs, as there are no small children around, so this Easter Sunday I was hunting for a good Lemon cake recipe to bake.

I know that I have made many during my ‘blogging career,’ but somehow this post that was drafted in 2020, escaped publication. So here it is Australia’s best Lemon Yoghurt Cake.

Happy Easter!

Lemon Tree

Do you remember the lemon tree, called,’Lots of Lemons,’ I planted at the Home by the Sea, a few months back? Due to the poor quality of our soil, we planted it in a pot in the backyard. I remember Chris was curious as to how it would grow.

It is budding a small lemon, just one, but it is its first year living at our home.

UPDATE 2023: the lemon tree is now in a garden bed and is over two metres tall.

In honour of the first lemon, and a large tub of yoghurt to use up before its use by date, I made a Lemon Yoghurt Cake. And it was light, tangy and delicious.

Australia’s Best Lemon Yoghurt Cake

The following recipe makes one large ring cake, two sandwich pan cakes or around 2 dozen cupcakes.

Adapted from bestrecipes.com.au

Lemon Yoghurt Cake Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 and 3/4 cups sugar – I only used 1.5 cups
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp lemon juice
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 1 cup natural yoghurt
  • 2 cups self-raising flour (If you don’t have Self-raising flour in your country you can make it by adding 2 teaspoons of baking powder to each cup of Plain flour)

Method

  1. In a bowl, mix rind, oil, eggs and sugar with a fork.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and combine well.
  3. Pour into your selected cake tin – I use a ring tin and bake at 180C for 30- 40 minutes.
  4. Leave to cool for 10 minutes then turn out
  5. Prick holes in the top of the cake and dribble lemon juice over the top. This gives it a tangy flavour.
  6. Dust with icing sugar and serve.

15 thoughts on “Lots of Lemon Cake”

  1. 2 questions, Amanda. Natural yogurt? I usually buy plain greek yogurt. Would that be natural enough? The lemon drizzed over the top is in addition to the 4 tsp of lemon in the cake? It looks delicious and I love lemon cake. Never made it though.

    Like

    1. Yes, Marlene. Greek yoghurt is the same as natural yoghurt here. (Natural as opposed to flavoured or with fruit added). Although using lemon yoghurt wouldn’t hurt, either.
      Drizzling lemon on the top is extra to the lemon in the cake. You don’t need much, especially if you are making cupcakes. I drizzle the lemon juice on top after the cake comes out of the oven, before turning out. If you leave it to the cake is cool, the juice makes it a little soggy on top where you have sprinkled it. I do hope you like it or someone can experiment and try the recipe. Have you tried lemon potatoes? The Greek Version. If you love lemons, you might also like that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have never heard of lemon potatoes but I will look them up. Thanks for the extra info. I’ve kept the recipe and will save it with the extra details. I don’t buy yogurt with all the stuff added. Doesn’t feel healthy.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have started using Greek yoghurt in place of sour cream. Healthier. Mind you, despite a healthy diet, I have just been told I have high cholesterol. It cannot be diet, apart from things li JH e “cake!” so must be the genetics and there is certainly evidence of that.

        Like

  2. Hey Amanda! Popped in here to see what you’ve been up to at home. And tada! I see lemon cake. As you might remember, I am a sucker for anything with lemon, anything with yogurt (I believe you and I have had conversations in around these before). And you’ve adapted this recipe for a ring cake. I have been looking for delicious things to bake in my new bundt tin!

    Like

    1. Hey my friend! Yes lemon and yoghurt are a match made in heaven and in the blogging world! Haha. This recipe is very adaptable to any kind of tea or patty cake/muffin – you just have to vary the cooking time to suit your chosen container! Hope you are all faring well good over your way?

      Like

I love a good discussion. What do you have to say?